Friday, August 19, 2011

Read Alike: J.R. Ward

J.R. Ward is a bestselling author of paranormal romances. Her stories contain a blend of adrenaline-fueled danger and erotic stories. Ward is best known for her vampire-based Black Dagger Brotherhood series beginning with Dark Lover about six vampire brothers who are fighting for the very existence of their race. In 2009 Ward started her new Fallen Angels series beginning with Covet. Ward's novels are plot-driven, fast-paced, steamy and violent. If you are a fan of J.R. Ward and the Black Dagger Brotherhood or paranormal romances in general, we suggest the following:

Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series starting with A Hunger Like No Other

  • Seeking revenge for years of torture from the vampire horde, Laclain MacRieve, leader of the Lykae Clan of werewolves, abducts the ethereal Emmaline, a young woman who is half Valkyrie and half vampire, and finds himself falling in love with his captive.

Christina Dodd’s Darkness Chosen series starting with Scent of Darkness

  • When the man she loves, Jasha Wilder, turns into a wolf before her very eyes, Ann Smith soon discovers that she has been chosen to break the curse that binds his soul.

Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breeds series starting with Kiss of Midnight

  • Drawn to the enigmatic stranger she sees across the room in a crowded dance club, Gabrielle Maxwell is drawn into the dark and dangerous world of hunter vampires, one in which a blood war is on the edge of ignition, when she falls for Lucan Thorne, a vampire Breed warrior sworn to protect other vampires and humans from the threat of the Rogues.

Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series starting with Fantasy Lover

  • Cursed to remain a love slave for eternity, Julian of Macedon finds himself falling for his latest owner, Grace Alexander, who might hold the key to breaking the curse.

Alexis Morgan’s Paladins of Darkness series starting with Dark Protector

  • Devlin Bane, an immortal Paladin warrior in the centuries-long battle against evil, is destined to die and be revived over and over again in his quest to protect humankind from the Others, until he finds himself coming ever closer to losing his humanity and falling in love with Dr. Laurel Young, the Handler who revives him every time he dies.

Jacquelyn Franks Nightwalkers series starting with Jacob

  • When Jacob, a Nightwalker who is forbidden to love a human, saves Isabella's life, he is torn between his duty as Enforcer of the Nightwalkers and his attraction to Isabella.
Additional series and authors include the Psy-Changelings series by Nalini Singh, the Argeneau series by Lynsay Sands, Dark series by Christine Feehan, and the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost.

Please stop by the Recommendations Desk on the first floor, check out NoveList Plus on the library's website, or visit W. 11th & Bluff next week for more reading suggestions. Or submit a Personal Recommendations request, and we'll create a reading list just for you!

No comments:

Post a Comment