Friday, September 9, 2011

Read Alike: Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts is an incredibly prolific author; since her first book came out thirty years ago, she's published almost two hundred novels. The vast majority of her books have been on the New York Times Best Seller List, and according to her website, that adds up to a total of almost 900 weeks. Because Ms. Roberts has published so many books over the course of her career, her newest titles are distinguished from reprints by an NR in a circle on the covers.

Over the course of her career, Ms. Roberts has written a variety of different plots and settings, including paranormals, though the majority are contemporary romances. Her stories are very character-driven, and many of her series include a focus on the bonds of family and friendship in addition to romantic love.

Nora Roberts is actually one of the author's pen names, and she's also well-known as the mystery author, J.D. Robb. As Robb, Ms. Roberts' writes a fast-paced series following Eve Dallas as she solves murders in the near future. If you're interested in J.D. Robb read alikes, check out these suggestions from the San Antonio Public Library.

Ms. Robert's next book, The Next Always, is scheduled for publication in November. The Next Always is the start of the new Inn Boonsboro Trilogy, which happens to be the name of the Inn that Ms. Roberts owns in real life. You can read more about Nora Roberts on her webpage:

If you've read Ms. Robert's entire catalog, we have some author suggestions you may enjoy:

Jayne Ann Krentz is another prolific author of contemporary romantic fiction. Like Ms. Roberts, she includes a focus on the family and friends of her protagonists as well as a suspenseful plot. Her novels are character-driven, funny, and often include narration from both of the main character's perspective. Start with All Night Long, Irene Stenson remains haunted by the death of her parents, but when she returns to her hometown she finds only more questions after her best friend dies. In addition to contemporary romantic suspense, Ms. Krentz writes contemporary paranormals, historical romance (as Amanda Quick), and science-fiction romance (as Jayne Castle).

Eileen Goudge's novels center on the drama of family and friendship. High drama, mystery, suspense, and a touch of romance make her titles an appealing match for Nora Roberts' fans. Start with Otherwise Engaged, childhood friends Jessie and Erin appear to have everything they wanted, but neither is quite satisfied. They decide to switch homes for six months; Erin trades her successful Bed and Breakfast for the restaurants of New York City, Jessie decides to try writing freelance from her hometown, and they both find more than they hoped for.

Elizabeth Lowell writes primarily contemporary romances, often with a suspenseful and fast-moving plot. She's known for the well-researched details of her settings, and the steamy passion between her novels' main characters. Start with The Wrong Hostage, the first book of her St. Kilda Consulting series. When her son his kidnapped by a Mexican Drug Lord and her ex-husband is nowhere to be found, federal judge Catherine Silva turns to Joe Faroe a kidnapping-specialist with whom she has a complicated history.

Elizabeth Adler's contemporary romantic suspense titles are a good match for Ms. Roberts' complex characters and steamy plots. Ms. Adler often sets her novels in romantic European locations. Start with One of Those Malibu Nights, private investigator Mac Reilly takes on a case of stalking and celebrity in this first of a series featuring Mac and his girlfriend Sunny.

Jude Deveraux writes romances both historical and contemporary, often with a paranormal twist. Readers enjoy her fast-pace and humorous tone. Start with An Angel for Emily, librarian Emily is skeptical when a (very attractive) man introduces himself as her guardian angel, but then her life takes a turn for the dangerous.

Suzanne Brockmann's specialty are military romances, packing her plots with suspense and action. She often places a greater focus on the hero's perspective and his military career. Not all of her novels feature military bad boys however. Try Infamous, for a modern-day cowboy romance, or Into the Storm for a former Navy SEAL.

JoAnn Ross is another author of contemporary romance with a suspenseful twist. Her independent career women heroines are surrounded by friends and family, but whose life isn't improved by a little unexpected romance? Start with Out of the Mist, the first in a trilogy about sisters with a Scottish twist.

Please stop by the Recommendations Desk on the first floor, check out NoveList Plus on the library's website, or visit W. 11th & Bluff next week for more reading suggestions. Or submit a Personal Recommendations request, and we'll create a reading list just for you!

No comments:

Post a Comment