Friday, November 4, 2011

Read Alike: Twilight Series
Stephenie Meyer's four-part series of supernatural romance novels grew more popular as each book was released. Popular with both adults and teens, the series offers a darkly atmospheric (yet wholesome) tale of forbidden love between a high school girl and a vampire, mixed with a complex plot about good triumphing over evil. In addition to the Twilight series, Meyer has also written a romance/science fiction novel for adults titled The Host as well as YA novella called The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner based on a minor character from Eclipse (Twilight series #3). Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn have all been made into movies. Breaking Dawn will be released in two parts with part 1 scheduled for November 18, 2011.

If you enjoyed the Twilight series, may we suggest the following:

The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

Grace Divine, almost seventeen, learns a dark secret when her childhood friend--practically a brother--returns, upsetting her pastor-father and the rest of her family, around the time strange things are happening in and near their small Minnesota town.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

In all the years she has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house, Grace has been particularly drawn to an unusual yellow-eyed wolf who, in his turn, has been watching her with increasing intensity.

Vampire Kisses by Ellen Schreiber

Sixteen-year-old Raven, an outcast who always wears black and hopes to become a vampire someday, falls in love with the mysterious new boy in town, eager to find out if he can make her dreams come true.

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

After fifteen-year-old Chloe starts seeing ghosts and is sent to Lyle House, a mysterious group home for mentally disturbed teenagers, she soon discovers that neither Lyle House nor its inhabitants are exactly what they seem, and that she and her new friends are in danger.

Glass Houses by Rachel Caine

In Morganville, Texas, a town where evil terrorizes the streets under the cover of darkness, Claire Danvers, who has had enough of her current dorm situation, moves off campus and discovers that Morganville is run by vampires. Morganville Vampires series 1.

Full Moon by Rachel Hawthorne

As the time for her werewolf transformation draws near and a deadly threat to the Dark Guardians escalates, Lindsey finds herself increasingly captivated by Rafe despite her long-standing commitment to Connor. Dark Guardian novels 2.

Sea Change by Aimee Friedman

When her estranged grandmother dies and leaves her mother the family home on Selkie Island, sixteen-year-old Miranda meets her mother on the Georgia island, where she discovers mysterious family secrets and another side to her logical, science-loving self.

Vampire High by Douglas Rees

When his family moves from California to New Sodom, Massachusetts and Cody entersVlad Dracul Magnet School, many things seem strange, from the dark-haired, pale-skinned, supernaturally strong students to Charon, the wolf who guides him around campus on the first day. Vampire High series book 1.

Never Cry Werewolf by Heather Davis

Forced to attend a camp for teens with behavior problems, sixteen-year-old Shelby Locke's attempts to follow the rules go astray when she meets a handsome British werewolf.

Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause

Having fallen for a human boy, a beautiful teenage werewolf must battle both her packmates and the fear of the townspeople to decide where she belongs and with whom.

Bloodline by Katy Moran

In this story told primarily through journal entries, a British soldier in World War I makes the horrifying discovery that his regiment commander is descended from Count Dracula. Bloodline series book 1.

Tithe by Holly Black

Sixteen-year-old Kaye, who has been visited by faeries since childhood, discovers that she herself is a magical faerie creature with a special destiny. Modern Faerie Tales series book 1.

The Frenzy by Francesca Lia Block

When she was thirteen, something terrifying and mysterious happened to Liv that she still does not understand, and now, four years later, her dark secret threatens to tear her apart from her family and her true love.

Terrier by Tamora Pierce

When sixteen-year-old Beka becomes "Puppy" to a pair of "Dogs," as the Provost's Guards are called, she uses her police training, natural abilities, and a touch of magic to help them solve the case of a murdered baby in Tortall's Lower City. Becca Cooper series book 1.

Please stop by the Recommendations Desk on the first floor, check out NoveList Plus on the library's website, or visit W. 11th & Bluff next week for more reading suggestions. Or submit a Personal Recommendations request, and we'll create a reading list just for you!

No comments:

Post a Comment