Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Bestseller Read-Alikes for the Week of Feb. 20th

Can’t wait to get your hands on the latest best-seller, but the hold list is too long? To tide you over, every week we’ll offer similar titles and authors to the week’s fiction and nonfiction best sellers.

This week’s #1 fiction bestseller is Kill Shot: An American Assassin Thriller by Vince Flynn. The twelfth book in the Mitch Rapp novels, Kill Shot begins with assassin Rapp working his way through a list of hit targets who were responsible for the Pan Am Flight 103 bombing. When Rapp shoots a drunken Libyan diplomat in Paris only to discover that he has been set up and that his handlers want him permanently silenced.

Other authors with similar writing styles to Flynn:

Jack Higgins -  Higgins is traditionally known for his action-filled adventure novels, often set in wartime, featuring unforgettable characters; compelling, detail-rich, and suspenseful storylines; locales around the world; and breakneck pacing. While his books include elements of political and spy thrillers - intrigue, details of the craft of espionage, and international politics and conspiracies - most of his novels are pure adventure, featuring a team of men on a desperate mission, elaborate preparations and plans, deadly villains, and an ultimate goal to be accomplished. Try The Eagle Has Landed.

Robert Ludlum - Bestselling author Ludlum's storylines feature conspiracies, corruption at the highest levels and are always filled with unexpected plot twists. Violent action dominates Ludlum's fast-paced novels featuring reluctant heroes caught in life-threatening situations. This action is framed with details of spycraft and the exotic locales in which his stories are often set. Try The Bourne Identity.

Click here for more fiction bestsellers...

This week's #1 nonfiction bestseller is Ameritopia: The Unmaking of America by Mark R. Levin. The nationally syndicated conservative radio host explores the philosophical basis of America's foundations as well as the crises facing government today.

Books similar to Ameritopia:

Being George Washington by Glenn Beck (973.41 BEC) - Combining biography and Washington's own writings with his own comments and sidebars, Beck explores our nation's first president and describes how Washington's beliefs and values--beliefs and values which united a country in an age even more fractious than our own--are especially important to remember today.

Throw Them All Out by Peter Schweitzer (364.1323 SCH) - Schweizer, a research fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University, discusses the state of government as he see it and the perceived depths of its political corruption.

Click here for more nonfiction bestsellers ...

No comments:

Post a Comment