Friday, February 24, 2012

Read Alike "Bossypants" by Tina Fey

Memoirs are often very personal stories that may deal with an individual's struggle with grief or addiction. The common elements of the human experience as seen from another's perspective can be inspiring, but there is no requirement for a memoir to be heavy or serious.

One of the most popular books of 2011 was the light-hearted and hilarious Bossypants by comedienne Tina Fey. She covers the trials and tribulations of childhood and marriage, and the road from unknown to celebrity with wit and charm. And best of all, she's neither the first, nor the only, author to tackle the story of her life this way.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and other concerns) by Mindy Kaling
Mindy Kaling is best known for playing Kelly Kapoor on The Office. In her recent memoir she shares her thoughts on dieting, her experience as an actress and comedy writer, and a glimpse of the world behind the scenes of a popular television program. Her writing is both funny and conversational.

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley
An essayist known both for her self-deprecating humor and her insightful observations of pop culture, Ms. Crosley's wit and intelligence make for an entertaining read. Start with her first collection I Was Told There'd Be Cake, which covers career missteps, a collection of plastic ponies, and the dreaded bridesmaid dress with fresh eyes.

Are You There Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler
A popular comedienne and host of a late night cable talk show, Ms. Handler is a star in the field of the comic memoir. Funny, honest, and no holds barred, the stories of her misadventures in dating and Hollywood have earned her a loyal following.

The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance by Elna Baker
Ms. Baker adds her own take on the funny girl's quest for love and success in the big city. With wit and without taking herself too seriously, she describes her experience with extreme weight loss and what it's like to be a faithful Mormon in New York City.

Such a Pretty Fat by Jen Lancaster
Ms. Lancaster turned to writing after an unexpected layoff leaves her adrift. A caustic wit and an ability to not take herself too seriously have grown into a rewarding second career. Tackling everything from life as a former sorority girl to her struggles with weight and reality tv, she turns her flaws into strengths.

More funny female memoirists:

Please stop by the Recommendations Desk on the first floor, check out NoveList Plus on the library's website, or visit W. 11th & Bluff next week for more reading suggestions. Or submit a Personal Recommendations request, and we'll create a reading list just for you!

No comments :

Post a Comment