Friday, March 15, 2013

Read Alikes: Fifty Shades of Grey

We're wrapping up the second week of voting in the Dubuque Tournament of Books, and there's still time to cast your votes (or to vote again!). Last Friday we put together a list of read alikes for Code Name Verity and The Fault in Our Stars. This Friday we've put together a read alike list for Fifty Shades of Grey which is up against Behind the Beautiful Forevers.


James' debut brought wide spread attention to the growing popularity and success of self-published eBook authors, fan fiction, and erotica. If you're one of the readers who has discovered a love for the steamier end of the romance spectrum, and you've already finished the Fifty Shades trilogy, you might want to check some of these books out!

Bared to You by Sylvia Day
You might recognize this title as the book that Fifty Shades of Grey beat in the first round of the Tournament of Books. Sylvia Day is an established romance author of everything from historicals to paranormals, with well-developed characters and sensual love scenes. Bared to You is the first title in her Crossfire trilogy, which came to attention after the success of Fifty Shades. Eva, just starting her career, is determined to make her own way without relying on her wealthy parents' connections. Gideon is the arrogent and successful businessman with whom she finds an instant and irresistible attraction.

Anything He Wants by Sara Fawkes
Anything He Wants is another story of passion between a woman working at the entry level and a powerful CEO that started life as an eBook, including a rather steamy scene in the office elevator. Originally published as five eBooks, the print copy available at Carnegie-Stout gathers all five stories into one volume. The later stories in this volume move beyond the attraction between Lucy and Jeremiah to introduce more characters and a suspense plot.

Saddled and Spurred by Lorelei James
Lorelei James has been publishing steamy erotica that explore the physical and emotional aspects of less vanilla relationships for several years, from BDSM to threesomes.Try Saddled and Spurred, the second book in her Blacktop Cowboys series. Despite her desire to move on from her life in a small Wyoming town, Harper can't quite resist the appeals of her boss, ranch owner Bran Turner.

Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas
Ms. Kleypas writes both historical and contemporary romances that combine steamy attraction with witty banter. Her heroes are always powerful, and often self-made men, but her heroines are every bit their match. Try Smooth Talking Stranger, Ella’s orderly life is upended when her sister Tara leaves without her infant son. Ella decides to confront the man who must be Luke’s father, millionaire playboy Jack Travis, and sparks fly.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
Jamie McGuire is one of the authors to come to prominence as part of the New Adult publishing trend. While her debut novel, Beautiful Disaster, is less steamy than Fifty Shades, readers are likely to enjoy McGuire's funny, conversational writing and character-driven romance. Travis Maddox, Eastern University's playboy, makes a bet with good girl Abby that if he loses, he will remain abstinent for a month, but if he wins, Abby must live in his apartment for the same amount of time.

Forbidden Pleasure by Lora Leigh
Ms. Leigh is an author of erotic romance, often with a suspenseful, fast-paced plot. Although some of her series include paranormal or fantasy elements, others focus on more realistic fantasies. Try Forbidden Pleasure, Mac attempted to suppress his less mainstream desires for the sake of his innocent bride, Keiley, but he longs to introduce her to pleasures possible in trying something, or someone, new.


Please stop by the Recommendations Desk on the first floor, check out NoveList Plus on the library's website, or visit W. 11th & Bluff next week for more reading suggestions. Or submit a Personal Recommendations request, and we'll create a reading list just for you!

No comments :

Post a Comment